## COUNTY OF MONTEREY

AGRICULTURAL COMMISSIONER/SEALER OF WEIGHTS & MEASURES
JUAN HIDALGO, AGRICULTURAL COMMISSIONER/SEALER
1428 ABBOTT STREET – SALINAS, CALIFORNIA 93901

PHONE: (831) 759-7325 FAX: (831) 422-5003

WEBSITE ag.co.monterey.ca.us



## MONTEREY COUNTY POSTING REGULATION

Posting is required for pesticide applications to growing crops for which there is a restricted entry interval of 24 hours or longer. Posting is not required for non-crop, dormant crop, pre-plant, or pre-emergent applications, or when applications are not made directly onto plant foliage. The property operator shall assure that fields will be posted in accordance with the following requirements.

- 1. Warning signs shall be posted at each corner of the treated areas and the normal points of entry into that field.
- 2. Warning signs shall be of such durability and construction that they will remain clearly legible for the duration of the safety interval:
  - a. Warning signs shall be mounted on a solid backing.
  - b. Legibility and visibility: Information on warning signs shall be legible from a distance of 25 feet, and the entire sign shall be visible and not obscured.
  - c. Warning signs shall have red printing on a white background, shall include a skull and crossbones symbol, and shall read, in the English and Spanish languages, substantially as follows:

DANGER
DO NOT
ENTER



PELIGRO NO ENTRAR

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION MAY BE INCLUDED ON SIGNS

## MONTEREY COUNTY POSTING REGULATION

- 3. Warning signs shall be posted before a pesticide application begins, and may be posted when an application is scheduled to begin within 24 hours.
- 4. No person, directly or through any agent, shall permit any other person under his control or in his employ to enter a field where warning signs are posted. (All fields shall be checked prior to crew entry for complete and proper removal of signs.) Licensed pest control advisors and management personnel who will have only limited and intermittent exposure to treated plants may enter posted fields. <u>Irrigators</u> and <u>tractor operators</u> may enter the posted field only when following the conditions of California Code of Regulations, Section 6770. These conditions include, but are not limited to: training, personal protective equipment, limited contact, time constrictions and activities that do not involve hand labor.
- 5. Removal of signs is prohibited during the restricted entry interval, and signs shall be removed within 72 hours (3 days) after the expiration of the restricted entry interval. Signs which must be removed on a Saturday or Sunday may remain up until the following Monday as long as no people will be in posted fields, except for #4 above. Removal of signs is the responsibility of the farm operator.
- 6. Any person who violates any provision of this regulation is subject to civil and criminal penalties set forth in Food and Agricultural Code Sections 11891 through 11894.
- 7. This regulation took effect on May 5, 1983 and will remain in effect until rescinded or modified. (Pursuant to Food and Agricultural Code, Section 11503)

## NOTES:

- 1) Posting is not required for sulfur applications.
- 2) The California Code of Regulation, Section 6772 and 6774 requires longer restricted entry intervals than stated on some labels. Please consult the Agricultural Commissioner's Office and/or these sections for clarification.
- 3) The California Code of Regulation, Section 6776(a)(2) requires posting for all greenhouse applications, regardless of restricted entry interval (REI).