WORKERS’> COMPENSATION FRAUD IS A
CRIME. THERE ARE MANY TYPES OF
FRAUD WITHIN THE WORKERS’
COMPENSATION SYSTEM

Uninsured Employers:
Failing to have workers’ compensation insurance
coverage for their employees when required by law
is a crime punishable by up to one year in jail and a
fine of at least $10,000.

Applicant Fraud:

An employee who lies to receive benefits may be
guilty of a felony punishable up to five years and
$150,000 fine. Some ways in which this crime can
be committed include: reporting an injury occurred
on the job when it did not happen; receiving benefits
while working another job that is not reported;
failing to disclose prior relevant injuries; or
exaggerating physical disabilities or limitations.

Employer Fraud:

Employers that wrongfully deny an injured worker
their entitled benefits or discourage an injured
worker from pursuing a claim may be guilty of a
felony punishable by up to five years and $150,000
fine. An example is making a false or fraudulent
statement to prevent an employee from filing a
claim.

Premium Fraud:

Employers who lie to reduce their insurance
premium may be guilty of a felony punishable by up
to five years and $50,000 fine. Examples include
paying employees in cash and not reporting them as
employees; not accurately describing employees’
duties; or falsely reporting the payroll.

Provider Fraud:

Medical providers who commit fraud in connection
with workers’ compensation may be guilty of a
felony punishable by up to five years and $50,000
fine. Examples include billing for treatment not
provided; or illegally recruiting patients.

RELATED LINKS AND AGENCIES

Monterey County District Attorney’s Office
http://www.co.monterey.ca.us/da/
Phone: (831) 755-5070 / Fax: (831) 883-7596

California Department of Insurance
http://www.insurance.ca.gov/
Phone: (408) 201-8800 / Fax: (408) 779-7299

California Employment Development
Department

http://www.edd.ca.gov/

State agency for unemployment insurance,
disability insurance, employment and training,
payroll taxes, and more.

California Department of Industrial
Relations

http://www.dir.ca.gov/

State agency that was established to improve
working conditions for California’s workers.

California Department of Industrial
Relations, Workers’ Compensation Division
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/dwc _home page.htm

This division minimizes the adverse impact of
work-related injuries on California employees
and employers.

California Department of Industrial
Relations, Labor Commissioner
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse.html

This division was established to adjudicate wage
claims, investigate discrimination and public
works complaints, and enforce Labor Code
statutes and Industrial Welfare Commission
orders.

California Department of Industrial
Relations, Cal/OSHA
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/dosh1.html

This division protects workers and the public
from safety hazards.
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Workers’ Compensation is a no-fault system
that benefits both employees and employers. It
benefits workers by providing medical care and
other benefits when they are injured on the job.
It benefits employers by offering protection
from civil lawsuits for job-related injuries.
Fraud within the Workers’ Compensation
system is a problem that costs the public billions
of dollars each year. Our dedicated unit is
committed to the investigation and prosecution
of Workers’ Compensation fraud wherever it is
found.

TIP LINE
To report any form of fraud call:
831-755-3224

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
FRAUD INVESTIGATION AND
PROSECUTION

The Monterey County District Attorney’s
Office Workers” Compensation Fraud Unit
includes a prosecutor who vertically prosecutes
all workers’ compensation fraud cases from
filing through sentencing. The unit has two
dedicated investigators who provide additional
investigation for cases that are submitted from
an insurance company and also investigate
cases from inception. Additionally, the unit
works closely with investigators from the
California Department of Insurance, Morgan
Hill office.

Our unit has an aggressive campaign to
identify, investigate and prosecute any
unscrupulous doctors, lawyers, employers and
applicants who have filed fraudulent claims.
The unit also investigates and prosecutes any
employers who unlawfully deny an injured
worker their entitled benefits.

The unit has a program that targets employers
who fail to obtain insurance for their employees
or who fraudulently obtain insurance at less
than the proper rate.

The area of Workers’ Compensation Insurance
is important due to the growing cost of
insurance and the fraudulent claims and abuses.
By halting the flow of fraudulent claims,
fraudulent medical billings and employer
premium fraud, confidence is restored in the
workers’ compensation system for employers
and employees. We are committed to making
the workers’ compensation system work for
those who need it.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
FRAUD COSTS EVERYONE IN
THE LONG RUN

Reporting Fraud:

As with any crime, the public is pivotal in
reporting criminal activity in order to improve
government services, stop fraud and abuse that
cost our entire community. If you have
information regarding any form of Workers’
Compensation Insurance Fraud please report it
to the Department of Insurance, Morgan Hill
Office or to the Monterey County District
Attorney’s Office, Workers’ Compensation
Unit. The more information you provide allows
our unit to follow-up on these reported
suspected activities.

As an employer, if you think someone is
committing workers’ compensation fraud, report
it to your workers’ compensation insurer. Every
workers’ compensation insurer is required to
have a Special Investigation Unit to handle
these cases. The insurer is required to report the
suspected fraud to the Department of Insurance
and the Monterey District Attorney for
investigation. Self-insured employers can report
the fraud to their Third Party Administrator.

As an employee, if you have information your
employer does not carry workers’ compensation
insurance, you can report this directly to the
Department of Insurance, Morgan Hill Office or
to the Office of the District Attorney, Workers’
Compensation Unit.

If you are an injured worker who has been
injured and your employer has discouraged you
from pursuing a claim, you can report this
directly to the Department of Insurance, Morgan
Hill Office or to the Office of the District
Attorney, Workers’ Compensation Unit.





