## Equal Opportunity and Civil Rights Advisory Commission Action Minutes of December 15, 2021

## 1. Roll Call and Greeting of Visitors

The meeting was called to order at 3:34 pm by Chairperson Ybarra.

<u>Commissioners Present:</u> Dionne Ybarra, Anita Crawley, Lee Ann Magoski, Christopher Barrera, Henry Gonzales, and Justin Matthews

Commissioners Absent: Andrea Monroe and Mary Claypool

<u>Staff Present:</u> Juan Rodriguez, Civil Rights Officer; Ruby Jacinto, Administrative Secretary; and Ellen Lyons, Deputy County Counsel

2. Consider finding, pursuant to AB 361 and in order for the Equal Opportunity and Civil
Rights Advisory Commission to continue to meet remotely, that the COVID-19
pandemic state of emergency declared by Governor Newsom is still in effect, that the
Equal Opportunity and Civil Rights Advisory Commission has reconsidered the
circumstances of the state of emergency; and that the Monterey County Health Officer
continues to recommend social distancing measures for meetings of legislative bodies.
The EOCRAC adopted and considered the findings of AB 361 to continue to meet remotely.

Commissioner Matthews made a motion to adopt and consider the findings of AB 361; seconded by Commissioner Barrera; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Crawley, Ybarra, Barrera, Matthews, Gonzales, and Magoski

NOES: None

**ABSENT:** Monroe and Claypool

ABSTAIN: None

### 3. <u>Public Comment:</u>

None

#### 4. Action Item: Review and Approve Minutes of November 17, 2021

Commissioner Matthews made a motion to approve the Minutes of November 17, 2021; seconded by Commissioner Crawley; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Crawley, Ybarra, Barrera, Matthews, Gonzales, and Magoski

NOES: None

ABSENT: Monroe and Claypool

ABSTAIN: None

- 5. Receive an Oral Report from the Nominating Committee on Nominees for Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson for Calendar Year 2022 Commissioner Matthews

  Commissioner Matthews provided an oral report on nominees for Calendar Year 2022.
- 6. <u>Action Item: Nomination and Election of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson for Calendar Year 2022 Chairperson Ybarra</u>

The EOCRAC Nominated and Elected Dionne Ybarra for Chairperson and Christopher Barrera for Vice Chairperson for Calendar Year 2022.

Commissioner Crawley made a motion to approve the Nomination and Election of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson for 2022; seconded by Commissioner Matthews; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Crawley, Ybarra, Barrera, Matthews, Gonzales, and Magoski

NOES: None

ABSENT: Monroe and Claypool

ABSTAIN: None

# 7. <u>Action Item: Review, Discuss, and Approve EOCRAC Meeting Schedule for Year 2022</u> - Chairperson Ybarra

The EOCRAC reviewed and approved the meeting schedule for 2022.

Commissioner Magoski made a motion to approve the EOCRAC Meeting Schedule for 2022; seconded by Commissioner Barrera; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Crawley, Ybarra, Barrera, Gonzales, and Magoski

NOES: None

ABSENT: Monroe and Claypool

ABSTAIN: Matthews

# 8. Receive Report from Ad Hoc Committee on Status of EOP Review This item was deferred to next meeting in January.

- 9. <u>Presentation of Certificate of Appreciation to Justin Matthews Chairperson Ybarra</u> The EOCRAC presented a Certificate of Appreciation and thanked Commissioner Matthews for his dedicated years of service.
- 10. Announcements

None

### 11. <u>Future Agenda Items</u>

a. EOCRAC Annual Report

#### 12. Date of time of Next Meeting

Wednesday, January 19, 2022 at 3:30 pm

### 13. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:58 pm.