

## OFFICE OF XOCHITL MARINA CAMACHO ASSESSOR, CLERK AND RECORDER

### APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MARRIAGE COMMISSIONER FOR A DAY

#### APPLICANT MUST APPEAR IN PERSON TO BE SWORN IN PLEASE MAKE PAYMENT OF \$105.00 PROCESSING FEE PAYABLE TO: MONTEREY COUNTY CLERK

ORDAINED INDIVIDUALS ARE NOT REQUIRED TO APPLY AS DEPUTY MARRIAGE COMMISSIONERS

CEREMONY INFORMATION				
DATE	LOCATION — STATE (must take place in California for appointment to be granted	LOCATION - COUNTY		
FIRST PARTY INFORMATION				
FIRST	MIDDLE	LAST		
DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER	EMAIL ADDRESS			
SECOND PARTY INFORMATION				
FIRST	MIDDLE LAST			
DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER	EMAIL ADDRESS			

MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION				
TYPE OF MARRIAGE LICENSE ISSUED TO THE FIRST/SECOND PARTY				
REGULAR/PUBLIC MARRIAGE LICENSE CONFIDENTIAL/NON-PUBLIC MARRIAGE				
STATE ISSUING MARRIAGE LICENSE: (must be issued in California for appointment to be granted)				
COUNTY ISSUING MARRIAGE LICENSE:				

APPLICANT INFORMATION					
FIRST	MIDDLE		LAST		
DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER	DATE OF BIRTH (must be 18 or older)		EMAIL ADDRESS		
MAILING ADDRESS					
CITY	STATE		ZIP		
Why do you want to be appointed Deputy Commissioner for a Day?					
"I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the					
State of California that the foregoing is true and correct."					
DATE		SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT			
Administrative Building 168 West Alisal Street, 1 <sup>st</sup> Floor, Salinas, CA 93901					
(831) 755-5450					

The County of Monterey Clerk-Recorder is designated as the Commissioner of Civil Marriages for Monterey County. As the Commissioner of Civil Marriages, the **Clerk-Recorder may appoint individuals as Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioners** in order to marry specific couples (pursuant to California Family Code Section 401(a) & (b) and County Code Section 2-10.7, pursuant to Government Code 26861). This means that your friend or family member may be appointed as a Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioner for a Day and perform your marriage.

If you are currently an 'ordained officiant' (minister, priest, etc.) anywhere, there is no need to complete an application for appointment as a Deputy Marriage Commissioner of Civil Marriages for a Day; you are already 'ordained' and eligible to solemnize/marry/conduct a marriage in Monterey County.

# Applicants must complete an Application for Appointment of Deputy Marriage Commissioner of Civil Marriages for a Day and submit to the Clerk-Recorder's Office.

### Applicant Requirements:

The person wishing to be appointed as a Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioner for a Day must:

- Be 18 years and older
- Appear in person for swearing in
- Show valid photo ID, such as a driver's license or passport is required to verify age and identity

• **Appointment fee** is \$105.00. Payment can be made by cash, personal check, cashier's check, travelers cheques, money order, Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover card.

### **Other Requirements:**

- Applicable to all:
- Marriage License must be issued by the State of California
- Applicants need not reside in Monterey County

• Applicants need not be legal residents or legal citizens, even though applicant for Commissioner must sign an oath supporting and defending the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California

- Applicable to Public (or Regular Marriage Licenses) and Confidential (Non-Public Marriage Licenses):
- Ceremony must be conducted in the State of California
- Ceremony may take place anywhere in the State of California

• Applicant may obtain Deputy Marriage Commissioner of Civil Marriages for a Day status from Monterey County yet perform the ceremony in another County within the State of California

The information packet includes instructions for completing a marriage license, a sample marriage ceremony, and policies on performing civil marriage ceremonies. The applicant is now a Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioner able to marry the couple indicated on the certificate, on the day indicated on the certificate.

On the day of the ceremony, the applicants must provide the Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioner a valid Marriage License and the Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioner must complete the license appropriately.

There are two minimum legal requirements for performing the ceremony. The Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioner must:

1. Have the couple state that they take each other as Married Spouses

2. State "By the virtue of the authority vested in me as a Commissioner of Civil Marriages, I now pronounce that you are MARRIED."

If you have additional questions, please call (831) 755-5450 and speak to a County Clerk representative.