County of Monterey

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS



LUIS A. ALEJO, Chair, District 1 GLENN CHURCH, Vice Chair, District 2 CHRIS M. LOPEZ, District 3 WENDY ROOT ASKEW, District 4 MARY L. ADAMS, District 5

June 12, 2023

The Honorable John Laird California State Senate 1021 O Street, Room 8720 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: SB 508 (Laird) Cannabis: Licenses: California Environmental Quality Act - SUPPORT

Dear Senator John Laird:

The County of Monterey is pleased to support your measure Senate Bill (SB) 508. This bill will streamline obtaining an annual cannabis license issued by the Department of Cannabis Control (DCC). Under the current framework to receive an annual license, two CEQA reviews are done on the same project (one at the local level and one at the state level). This bill will reduce it to one.

This bill aims to ensure those entering the regulated cannabis market remain by shortening the time and reducing the expense to obtain an annual license issued by the Department of Cannabis Control. Under SB 508, local jurisdictions will still be required to complete a CEQA review for a proposed cannabis business. The additional time and resources spent by applicants and DCC staff during this duplicative process after a local jurisdiction has completed CEQA slows licensure. Streamlining this process will improve the transition of thousands of provisional licenses to annual licenses. The DCC will continue to conduct a CEQA review where local project approval is ministerial.

The state desires to bring applicants into legal compliance by upcoming deadlines. This bill ensures that one barrier of entry, CEQA review, is streamlined for commercial cannabis licenses and will help reduce duplications while also increasing government efficiency.

It is for these reasons that the County of Monterey supports SB 508. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact the County of Monterey's Public Policy Advisor, Ashley Walker of Nossaman LLP at 916-442-8888.

Sincerely,

Luis A. Alejo, Chair Board of Supervisors

Cc: The Honorable Anna Caballero, 14th Senate District The Honorable Robert Rivas, 29th Assembly District The Honorable Dawn Addis, 30th Assembly District California State Association of Counties (CSAC) Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC)