County of Monterey

Board of Supervisors

LUIS A. ALEJO, Chair, District 1 GLENN CHURCH, Vice Chair, District 2 CHRIS M. LOPEZ, District 3 WENDY ROOT ASKEW, District 4 MARY L. ADAMS, District 5

December 12, 2023

The Honorable Alex Padilla 112 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Laphonza Butler G-12 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: S. Res. 400 – A resolution honoring the life and legacy of Dianne Feinstein, the late Senator for the State of California – Support

Dear Senator Padilla and Senator Butler:

On behalf of the County of Monterey Board of Supervisors, I am writing to express our support for Senate Resolution 400 (S. Res. 400), a resolution honoring the life and legacy of Dianne Feinstein, the late Senator for the State of California. Thank you for your leadership on this important legislation recognizing the late Senator Feinstein on her long and incredible lifetime spent working on behalf of the people of California. We also appreciate the flexibility provided in this resolution that allowed her colleagues to travel to her funeral services and as a mark of respect to her memory.

The resolution recognizes Senator Feinstein as the longest-serving Senator to represent California; as the longest-serving female Senator in the history of the United States; as a trailblazing lawmaker and dedicated public servant; and as a beloved sister, wife, mother, and grandmother. Senator Feinstein will be remembered for inspiring generations of women to break barriers and seek positions of leadership, and for her ability to find common ground in order to get things done for the people that she represented, serving with grace, strength, and integrity.

We appreciate your support for the County of Monterey, and we thank you for sponsoring S. Res. 400, a resolution honoring the life and legacy of Dianne Feinstein, the late Senator for the State of California.

Sincerely,

LUIS A. ALEJO

Chair, Monterey County Board of Supervisors

cc: The Honorable Jimmy Panetta, 19th Congressional District The Honorable Zoe Lofgren, 18th Congressional District