LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF MONTEREY COUNTY MEETING AND COMMISSION INFORMATION

Legislative Reference: Government Code Section 56000, Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000, as amended.

Membership:

- Two members of the Board of Supervisors, selected by the Board Chair, and an alternate;
- Two members of the city legislative bodies, selected by the Mayors Selection Committee, and an alternate;
- Two members of independent special district legislative bodies, elected by the Independent Special Districts Selection Committee, and an alternate;
- One member from the Public sector, selected by at least one Commissioner from each of the 3 groups, and an alternate.

<u>Staffing:</u> The Commission is staffed by the Executive Officer, Principal Analyst, Senior Analyst, the Clerk to the Commission/Office Administrator, and LAFCO General Counsel.

Terms: Each Commissioner is appointed to a 4-year term, ending the first Monday in May.

<u>Responsibilities:</u> LAFCO is an independent regulatory authority of the State of California. The Commission makes decisions about local government boundaries and spheres of influence of the cities and districts in Monterey County. Legislative purposes are to encourage the orderly growth of cities and districts; protect agricultural lands and open space; discourage urban sprawl, and ensure the efficient delivery of local government services.

<u>Meeting Date, Time and Place</u>: Meetings are in person, held on the 4th Monday of each month at 3:00 p.m. at the Board of Supervisors Chambers, 168 W Alisal in Salinas. The public may attend the meeting, participate remotely by Zoom or view the meeting on LAFCO's YouTube channel.

Contact: Kate McKenna, AICP, Executive Officer (831) 754-5838

Commissioners		
Seat Represented	Name	Term Expires
County (Regular)	Wendy Root Askew	May 5, 2025
County (Regular)	Mary Adams	May 5, 2027
County (Alternate)	Chris Lopez	May 5, 2027
City (Regular)	Kimbley Craig	May 3, 2027
City (Regular)	lan Oglesby	May 5, 2025
City (Alternate)	Anna Velazquez	May 1, 2028
Public (Regular)	Matt Gourley	May 4, 2026
Public (Alternate)	Mike Bikle	May 4, 2026
Special District (Regular)	Mary Ann Leffel	May 4, 2026
Special District (Regular)	Chad M. Lindley	May 1, 2028
Special District (Alternate)	David Kong	May 4, 2026