# CAREGIVER'S AUTHORIZATION AFFIDAVIT

Use of this affidavit is authorized by part 1.5 (commencing with section 6550) of Division 11 of the California Family Code.

Instructions:	Completion of items 1-4 and the signing of the affidavit is sufficient to authorize
	enrollment of a minor in school and authorize school-related medical care
	Completion of items 5-8 is additionally required to authorize any other medical

care. Please print clearly.

I am requesting enrollment of the minor in school and to authorize school-related medical
care. Completion of items 1-4 are required only.

I am also requesting to authori	ze medical car	e not school-relat	ted. Completion	of items 1-8
are required.				

The minor named below lives in my home and I am 18 years of age or older.

The illinor hame	ed below lives in my nome and I am 18 years of age of older.
1. Name of min	or:
2. Minor's birth	date:
3. My name: [ad	ult giving authorization]
•	dress:
•	rent, aunt, uncle, or other qualified relative of the minor (see back of this form for qualified relative").
6. Check one or	both (for example, if one parent was advised and the other cannot be located):
	have advised the parent(s) or other person(s) having legal custody of the minor of my intent to authorize medical care, and have received no objection.
$\Box$ I	am unable to contact the parent(s) or other person(s) having legal custody of the ninor at this time, to notify them of my intended authorization.
7. My date of bi	irth:
	a driver license or identification card number:
***	

Warning: Do not sign this form if any of the statements above are incorrect, or you will be committing a crime punishable by a fine, imprisonment, or both.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date:		
Signature:		

Please Note:

- This declaration does not affect the rights of the minor's parents or legal guardian regarding the care, custody, and control of the minor, and does not mean that the caregiver has legal custody of the minor.
- A person who relies on this affidavit has no obligation to make any further inquiry or investigation.
- This affidavit is valid for only one year after the date on which it is executed.

# IMPORTANT INFORMATION

#### TO CAREGIVERS:

- 1. "Qualified relative," for purposes of item 5, means a spouse, parent, stepparent, brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, half-brother, half-sister, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, first cousin, or any person denoted by the prefix "grand" or "great," or the spouse of any of the persons specified in this definition, even after the marriage has been terminated by death or dissolution.
- 2. The law may require you, if you are not a relative or currently licensed foster parent, to obtain a foster home license in order to care for a minor. If you have any questions, please contact your local department of social services.
- 3. If the minor stops living with you, you are required to notify any school, health care provider, or health care service plan to which you have given this affidavit.
- 4. If you do not have the information requested in item 8 (California driver license or identification card), provide another form of identification such as your social security number or Medi-Cal number.

### TO SCHOOL OFFICIALS:

- 1. Section 48204 of the Education Code provides that this affidavit constitutes a sufficient basis for determination of residency of the minor, without the requirement of a guardianship or other custody order, unless the school district determines from actual facts that the minor is not living with the caregiver.
- 2. The school district may require additional reasonable evidence that the caregiver lives at the address provided in item 4.

### TO HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS AND HEALTH CARE SERVICE PLANS:

- No person who acts in good faith reliance upon a Caregiver's Authorization Affidavit to provide
  medical or dental care, without accrual knowledge of facts contrary to those stated on the
  affidavit, is subject to criminal liability or to civil liability to any person, or is subject to
  professional disciplinary action, for such reliance if the applicable portions of this form are
  completed.
- 2. This affidavit does <u>not</u> mean that the minor is automatically a dependent for health care coverage purposes.