

## MONTEREY COUNTY WATER RESOURCES AGENCY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS:**

David Hart, Chair Richard Ortiz, Vice Chair Ken Ekelund Mark Gonzalez Claude Hoover John Huerta Mike Scattini Deidre Sullivan Abby Taylor-Silva

#### **BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**

Jane Parker, Chair – District 4
Dave Potter – Vice Chair – District 5
Fernando Armenta – District 1
John Phillips – District 2
Simón Salinas – District 3

# Tuesday, April 12, 2016

# SPECIAL JOINT BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MEETING

#### **MINUTES**

## 1. CALL TO ORDER/ESTABLISH QUORUM

Chair Hart called the meeting to order @ 10:47 AM and a quorum was established. Chair Parker called the meeting to order @ 10:47 AM and a quorum was established

Directors Present: Hart, Ortiz, Ekelund, Gonzalez, Huerta, Hoover, Scattini and

Taylor-Silva

**Directors Absent:** Sullivan

Supervisors Present: Parker, Armenta, Potter (@10:48 AM), Phillips and Salinas

**Supervisors Absent:** None

**2. PUBLIC COMMENTS** – Hans Jongens.

#### 3. CONSENT CALENDAR

A. Approve and recommend that the Monterey County Water Resources Agency Board of Supervisors approve the First Amendment to the Third Reimbursement and Funding Agreement between the County of Monterey and the Monterey County Water Resources Agency relating to preliminary expenditures for the Interlake Tunnel and Spillway Modification Projects; and, authorize the Monterey County Water Resources Agency General Manager to execute the First Amendment to the Third Reimbursement and Funding Agreement.

Public Comments: None.

ACTION: On motion and second by Directors Gonzalez and Ekelund respectively, unanimously approved the Consent Calendar.

VOTE: Ayes: Hart, Ortiz, Ekelund, Gonzalez, Hoover, Huerta, Scattini, Taylor-Silva

Noes: None Absent: Sullivan

## 4. ACTION ITEMS

A. Consider approving and recommending that the Monterey County Water Resources Agency Board of Supervisors approve a Project Labor Agreement for the Interlake Tunnel and Spillway Modification Projects; and, authorizing the Chair of the Monterey County Water Resources Agency Board of Supervisors to execute the Project Labor Agreement.

David Chardavoyne, General Manager, presented this item for consideration by the Joint Boards.

**Public Comments:** Kevin Dayton; Ron Chesshire; Joe Vierra; Jeff Taylor; Sherie Cabral; Hans Jongens; Jose Mendez.

ACTION: On motion and second by Directors Ortiz and Gonzalez respectively, unanimously approved and recommended that the Monterey County Water Resources Agency Board of Supervisors approve a Project Labor Agreement for the Interlake Tunnel and Spillway Modification Projects; authorized the Chair of the Monterey County Water Resources Agency Board of Supervisors to execute the Project Labor Agreement; and, requested that all signatories to the Agreement be identified as well as Drug testing language be added as part of the Agreement.

VOTE: Ayes: Hart, Ortiz, Ekelund, Gonzalez, Hoover, Huerta, Scattini, Taylor-Silva Noes: None Absent: Sullivan

B. Consider taking a support position and recommending that the Monterey County Water Resources Agency Board of Supervisors take a support position on Assembly Bill 1585 (Alejo) "Monterey County Water Resources Agency: Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio," as amended April 4, 2016; and, authorizing the Chair of the Monterey County Water Resources Agency Board of Supervisors to sign a letter of support.

Rob Johnson, Deputy General Manager, presented this item for consideration by the Joint Boards.

Public Comments: Kevin Dayton; Jeff Taylor; Ron Chesshire; Caesar Laro.

ACTION: On motion and second by Directors Gonzalez and Huerta respectively, unanimously took a support position and recommended that the Monterey County Water Resources Agency Board of Supervisors take a support position on Assembly Bill 1585 (Alejo) "Monterey County Water Resources Agency: Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio," as amended April 4, 2016; and, authorized the Chair of the Monterey County Water Resources Agency Board of Supervisors to sign a letter of support.

VOTE: Ayes: Hart, Ortiz, Ekelund, Gonzalez, Hoover, Huerta, Scattini, Taylor-Silva

Noes: None Absent: Sullivan

# 5. BOARD OF DIRECTORS' COMMENTS - None.

## **6. ADJOURNMENT @ 12:17 PM**

SUBMITTED BY: Wini Chambliss APPROVED ON: April 25, 2016

Wini Chambliss, Clerk to the Board