Equal Opportunity Advisory Commission Action Minutes of

January 18, 2017

1. Roll Call and Greeting of Visitors

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 p.m. by Chair James Bogan.

<u>Commissioners Present:</u> James Bogan, Andrea Monroe, Maria Castillo, Billy DeBerry, Eric Lauritzen, Justin Matthews, Aranyani Azevedo, and Elliott Robinson

Commissioners Absent (excused): Kay Kirkland

<u>Staff Present:</u> Interim Equal Opportunity Officer Juan Rodriguez, Administrative Secretary-Confidential Rocio Quezada and Deputy County Counsel William Litt

2. Public Comments

No public comment.

3. Action Item: Review and Approve Minutes of November 16, 2016

Commissioner Robinson made a motion to approve the Minutes of November 16, 2016; seconded by Commissioner Castillo; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Bogan, Robinson, Castillo, DeBerry, Monroe, Lauritzen, Matthews, and

Azevedo

NOES: None ABSENT: Kirkland ABSTAIN: None

4. Presentation of Certificate of Appreciation to Carlos Martinez – Chair Bogan

Chair Bogan presented a Certificate of Appreciation to Carlos Martinez for his commitment and years of service on the Commission.

5. Department Head's Equal Opportunity Plan Presentation – Steve Vagnini -

Assessor, County-Clerk Recorder

Mr. Steve Vagnini, Assessor, County-Clerk Recorder presented his Department's Equal Opportunity Plan.

6. Receive Oral Report from the Nominating Committee on Nominees for Chair and Vice Chair - Commissioner Monroe

Commissioner Monroe reported Commissioners Bogan, Robinson and Lauritzen expressed interest as serving as Chair to the Commission.

Commissioners Monroe and Bogan expressed interest to serve as Vice Chair to the Commission.

Action Item: Nomination and Election of Chair and Vice Chair for 2017

Commissioner Lauritzen nominated Commissioner Robinson to serve as Chair for 2017.

Commissioner Bogan made a motion to approve Commissioner Robinson to serve as Chair; seconded by Commissioner Lauritzen; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Bogan, Castillo, DeBerry, Monroe, Lauritzen, Matthews, and Azevedo

NOES: None ABSENT: Kirkland ABSTAIN: None

Commissioner Azevedo nominated Commissioner Monroe to serve as Vice Chair for 2017.

Commissioner Robinson made a motion to approve Commissioner Monroe to serve as Vice Chair; seconded by Commissioner Lauritzen; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Bogan, Robinson, Castillo, DeBerry, Lauritzen, Matthews, and Azevedo

NOES: None ABSENT: Kirkland ABSTAIN: None

7. <u>Action Item: Review, Discuss and Approve the 2017 Meeting Schedule – Chair Robinson</u> Commissioner DeBerry made a motion to approve the 2017 Meeting Schedule with the revision that there will be no meeting in December; seconded by Commissioner Bogan; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Bogan, Robinson, Castillo, DeBerry, Monroe, Lauritzen, Matthews, and

Azevedo

NOES: None ABSENT: Kirkland ABSTAIN: None

8. <u>Action Item: Appointment of Commissioners to the Standing Committees - Chair Robinson</u>
Chair Robinson appointed the following Commissioners to the Departmental Equal Opportunity Plan Committee: Commissioners DeBerry, Lauritzen, Bogan, and Matthews. Chair Robinson appointed Commissioner Lauritzen as the temporary Chairperson.

Chair Robinson appointed the following Commissioners to the County Equal Opportunity Plan Committee: Commissioners Castillo, Monroe, Azevedo, and Kirkland. Chair Robinson appointed Commissioner Azevedo as the temporary Chairperson.

9. <u>Action Item: Review, Discuss and Approve the County Equal Opportunity Plan Standing Committee 2016 Annual Report – Chair Robinson</u>

Chair Robinson presented the County Equal Opportunity Plan 2016 Annual Report. Commissioner Bogan made a motion to approve the 2016 Annual Report; seconded by Commissioner Castillo; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Bogan, Robinson, Castillo, DeBerry, Monroe, Lauritzen, Matthews, and

Azevedo

NOES: None ABSENT: Kirkland ABSTAIN: None

10. Action Item: Review, Discuss and Approve the Departmental Equal Opportunity Plan Standing Committee 2016 Annual Report – Commissioner Lauritzen

Commissioner Lauritzen presented the Departmental Equal Opportunity Plan 2016 Annual Report.

Commissioner Lauritzen made a motion to approve the 2016 Annual Report; seconded by Commissioner DeBerry; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Bogan, Robinson, Castillo, DeBerry, Monroe, Lauritzen, Matthews, and

Azevedo

NOES: None ABSENT: Kirkland ABSTAIN: None

11. <u>Announcements</u>

- Commission on the Status of Women is receiving nominations for the 2017 Outstanding Women of the Year event which will be held on Sunday, March 19 at 2:00 p.m. at the Monterey Institute of International Studies
- United Way Monterey County will provide free tax preparation for low income individuals beginning February 1
- CSUMB will host a women's rally on Saturday, January 21, 2017
- Bi-Annual Homeless Census will be held on January 25 at 5:30 a.m. at the Citizens Project in Salinas. Contact the Coalition of Homeless Services Provider at (831) 883-3080

12. <u>Future Agenda Items</u>

- Agricultural Commissioner Equal Opportunity Plan Presentation
- Public Defender Equal Opportunity Plan Presentation
- County Counsel Equal Opportunity Plan Presentation
- Contracts/Purchasing Annual Report
- Site visits to County Departments
- Annual Discrimination Complaint Report from the Equal Opportunity Officer
- Equal Opportunity Office compile list of County Departments for site visits

13. Date of time of Next Meeting

Wednesday, February 15 at 3:30 p.m. at the Board of Supervisors Chambers

14. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.