Equal Opportunity Advisory Commission Action Minutes of

January 20, 2016

1. Roll Call and Greeting of Visitors

The meeting was called to order at 3:27 p.m. by Chair James Bogan.

<u>Commissioners Present:</u> Chair James Bogan, Carlos Martinez, Elliott Robinson, Kay Kirkland, Eric Lauritzen, Jess Barreras and Jerry Teeter

<u>Commissioners Excused Absence:</u> Billy DeBerry, Maria Castillo and Andrea Monroe

<u>Staff Present:</u> Equal Opportunity Officer Irma Ramirez-Bough, Equal Opportunity Analyst Cynthia Juarez, Administrative Secretary-Confidential Rocio Quezada and Deputy County Counsel Juan Rodriguez

2. Public Comments

Ms. Helen Rucker and Ms. Red Robinson from NAACP provided public comment.

3. Action Item: Review and approval of Minutes

Commissioner Lauritzen made a motion to approve the minutes of December 16, 2015; seconded by Commissioner Robinson; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Bogan, Robinson, Martinez, Kirkland, Teeter, Lauritzen, and Barreras

NOES: None

ABSENT: DeBerry, Monroe and Castillo

ABSTAIN: None

4. <u>Department Head's Equal Opportunity Plan Presentation – Gail Borkowski – Clerk of the</u> Board

Deferred to February meeting.

5. <u>Action Item: Review, discuss and approve the 2016 Meeting Schedule – Chair Bogan</u> Chair Bogan recommended deferring approval of the 2016 meeting schedule to the February Commission meeting.

6. <u>Action Item: Review, discuss and approve Amended Bylaws-Chair Bogan</u> Commissioner Robinson presented the revised Bylaws.

Commissioner Robinson made a motion to approve the revised Bylaws; seconded by Commissioner Barreras; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Bogan, Robinson, Martinez, Kirkland, Teeter, Lauritzen, and Barreras

NOES: None

ABSENT: DeBerry, Monroe and Castillo

ABSTAIN: None

7. <u>Appointment of Commissioners to the Standing Committees by the Chairperson – Chair</u> Bogan

Chair Bogan appointed the following Commissioners to the Compliance Review of Department's Equal Opportunity Plan Committee: Commissioners DeBerry, Lauritzen, Martinez and Teeter. Chair Bogan appointed Commissioner Martinez as the temporary Chairperson.

Chair Bogan appointed the following Commissioners to the Compliance Review of the County's Equal Opportunity Plan Committee: Commissioners Castillo, Monroe, Robinson, Barreras and Kirkland. Chair Bogan appointed Commissioner Robinson as the temporary Chairperson.

8. Announcements

None.

9. Future Agenda Items

- Library Department Equal Opportunity Plan presentation
- Sheriff's Office Department Equal Opportunity Plan presentation
- Parks Department Department Equal Opportunity Plan presentation
- District Attorney Department Equal Opportunity Plan presentation
- Invite Interim Human Resource Director Manny González
- Contracts Purchasing Annual Report
- Recruitment of vacant Commissioners

10. Date of time of Next Meeting

Wednesday, February 17, 2016 at 3:00 p.m.

11. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 3:45 p.m.