Equal Opportunity Advisory Commission Action Minutes of

December 6, 2017

1. Roll Call and Greeting of Visitors

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 p.m. by Chair Robinson.

<u>Commissioners Present:</u> Elliott Robinson, James Bogan, Maria Castillo, Patricia Butcher, Billy DeBerry, Andrea Monroe, Justin Matthews, Harry Gamotan, and Alexia Garcia

Commissioners Absent: Kay Kirkland and Michael Fritsche

<u>Staff Present:</u> Juan P. Rodriguez, Equal Opportunity Officer; Colleen Beye, Management Specialist; Rocio Quezada, Administrative Secretary-Confidential; and Bill Litt, Deputy County Counsel

2. Public Comment:

None.

3. Action Item: Review and Approve Minutes of November 15, 2017

Commissioner Butcher made a motion to approve the Minutes of November 15, 2017; seconded by Commissioner Matthews; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Robinson, Bogan, DeBerry, Butcher, Castillo, Gamotan, Monroe, Matthews,

and Garcia

NOES: None

ABSENT: Kirkland and Fritsche

ABSTAIN: None

4. <u>Department Head's Equal Opportunity Plan Presentation – Marcia Parsons – Probation Department</u>

Todd Keating, Assistant Chief Probation Officer and Dannie Ryan, Management Analyst, presented the Probation Department 2017 Equal Opportunity Plan.

5. <u>Department Head's Equal Opportunity Plan Presentation – Dave Spaur – Economic Development Department</u>

Dave Spaur, Economic Development Director, presented his Department's 2017 Equal Opportunity Plan.

- 6. <u>Department Head's Equal Opportunity Plan Presentation Charles McKee County Counsel</u> Charles McKee, County Counsel, presented his Department's 2017 Equal Opportunity Plan.
- 7. Receive a Presentation on the Update of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act Colleen Beye Equal Opportunity Office

Colleen Beye with the Equal Opportunity Office presented an update on the Title VI of the Civil Rights Act.

8. Receive an Oral Report from the Nominating Committee on Nominees for Chair and Vice Chair – Commissioner Garcia

Commissioner Bogan and Commissioner Butcher expressed interest as serving as the 2018 Chair. Commissioner Bogan and Commissioner Monroe expressed interest as serving as the 2018 Vice Chair.

Action Item: Nomination and Election of Chair and Vice Chair for 2018 – Chair Robinson Commissioner Gamotan made a motion to approve Commissioner Butcher to serve as Chair; seconded by Commissioner Monroe; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Robinson, Bogan, DeBerry, Castillo, Gamotan, Monroe, Matthews, and Garcia

NOES: None

ABSENT: Kirkland and Fritsche

ABSTAIN: None

Commissioner Butcher made a motion to approve Commissioner Monroe to serve as Vice Chair; seconded by Commissioner Gamotan; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Robinson, Bogan, DeBerry, Castillo, Gamotan, Matthews, and Garcia

NOES: None

ABSENT: Kirkland and Fritsche

ABSTAIN: None

9. <u>Action Item: Review, Discuss and Approve the 2018 Meeting Schedule – Chair Robinson</u>
Commissioner Gamotan made a motion to approve the 2018 Meeting Schedule; seconded by Commissioner DeBerry; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Robinson, Bogan, DeBerry, Castillo, Butcher, Gamotan, Monroe, Matthews,

and Garcia

NOES: None

ABSENT: Kirkland and Fritsche

ABSTAIN: None

10. <u>Announcements</u>

Happy Holidays from Chair Robinson

11. Future Agenda Items

- Appoint Commissioners to Standing Committees
- Annual Report
- Human Resources Report on Centralization and Outreach/Recruitment Efforts
- Ad-Hoc Committee Report

12. Date of time of Next Meeting

Wednesday, January 17 at 3:30 p.m. at the Board of Supervisors Chambers

13. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.