## MONTEREY COUNTY 457 DEFERRED COMPENSATION

## ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

September 9, 2020 ~ 2:00 p.m. Via Zoom Teleconference



## **Proposed Minutes**

Committee Members Present: Dean Carothers, SEIU Representative; Steve Vagnini, Assessor/Clerk/Recorder; Dewayne Woods, Assistant Chief Administrative Officer; Rupa Shah, Auditor/Controller; Bill Mixer, DSA Representative; Sara Bowe, Management Council Representative; Steve Cagle, Retiree Representative; Irma Ramirez-Bough, Human Resources Director; Mary Zeeb, Treasurer

**Staff Present**: Brian Briggs, Deputy County Counsel; Paulette Clark, Employee Benefits Program Manager; Melissa Zamora, Senior Benefits Analyst

Call to Order & Roll Call

1. Public Comment (Limited to three [3] minutes per person).

This portion of the meeting is reserved for persons to address the Committee on any matter not on this agenda, but under the jurisdiction of the Deferred Compensation Administrative Committee. Committee members may respond briefly to statements made or questions posed. They may ask a question for clarification; make a referral to staff for factual information, or request staff to report back to the Committee at a future meeting.

No comments.

2. Consider approval of the HYAS Group contract renewal for a term of October 1, 2020 to September 30, 2021 in the amount of \$48,000.

Action: Motion to approve the HYAS Group contract renewal. Moved by Rupa Shah, seconded by Irma Ramirez-Bough.

Ayes: Irma Ramirez-Bough, Mary Zeeb, Rupa Shah, Dean Carothers

Nays: Steve Vagnini, Bill Mixer, Dewayne Woods

Abstained: None

Action: Motion to reopen discussion on the matter. Moved by Steve Vagnini, seconded by Bill Mixer. Ayes: Bill Mixer, Steve Vagnini, Irma Ramirez-Bough, Mary Zeeb, Rupa Shah, Dean Carothers, Dewayne Woods.

Nays: None Abstained: None

Mr. Steve Cagle and Ms. Sara Bowe joined the meeting.

Discussion was reopened.

Action: Motion to approve the HYAS Group contract renewal. Moved by Mary Zeeb, seconded by Rupa Shah.

Ayes: Irma Ramirez-Bough, Mary Zeeb, Rupa Shah, Dean Carothers Nays: Steve Vagnini, Bill Mixer, Dewayne Woods, Sara Bowe, Steve Cagle Abstained: None

Motion does not carry.

3. Approve attendance for the 2020 Annual NAGDCA Virtual Educational Conference.

Action: Motion to approve attendance for all committee members and staff who would like to attend the virtual conference, not to exceed \$100 per participant. Moved by Steve Vagnini, seconded by Sara Bowe.

Ayes: Dean Carothers, Mary Zeeb, Rupa Shah, Irma Ramirez-Bough, Dewayne Woods, Steve Vagnini, Stave Cagle, Sara Bowe, and Bill Mixer.

Nays: None Abstained: None

4. Staff comments.

None

5. Referrals to staff.

Staff was asked to survey other agencies and report back to the committee as to how many other agencies may contract for consulting services.

Deputy County Counsel, Brian Briggs will draft a letter of non-renewal to HYAS Group for the Chair.

Adjourn to the next regular meeting of the Committee on November 18, 2020 at 2:00 p.m., Monterey Room, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, 168 West Alisal Street, Salinas, CA or Via Zoom Teleconferencing

Copies of staff reports are available upon request at the County Administrative Building, Human Resources Dept., 168 W. Alisal St., 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, Salinas 93901